Is Your Coverage Breaking The Law?

Car driving fast in tunnel

Avoid The Expense And Hassle Of Getting Caught Underinsured

You probably know that the state of New York has requirements concerning how much insurance each driver needs to carry, but do you know what those requirements are? Furthermore, if you do not have the necessary coverage do you know what kind of penalties you will face? Here is a brief guide to the state mandated coverage.

In New York, you are required to have bodily injury liability insurance, property damage liability insurance, and “no-fault” coverage. For bodily injury liability insurance, you must have $25,000 of coverage for bodily injury to one person and $50,000 of coverage for bodily injury to multiple people. For property damage liability insurance, you must have at least $10,000 of coverage. And finally, your “no-fault” coverage must equal at least $50,000. All that being said, most people secure more than the legal limit of coverage because they want to be fully protected on the roadways. $25,000 of bodily injury coverage may not end up seeming like much should you be seriously injured and require rehabilitation.

If you get into an accident uninsured, you will likely lose both your license and your vehicle registration for one year. The same is true if someone other than you is driving your vehicle, as your auto insurance travels with the vehicle, not the driver. You could also be hit with a court fine of up to $1,500, and be required to pay a civil penalty of $750 to the DMV before you can get your license back.

Do not leave yourself unprotected and facing expensive penalty fees; get the auto insurance you need today. To connect with an expert who will make sure your coverage meets the legal requirements, contact Robert J. Los Insurance Agency in Hamburg, New York. Our team of experts is here for all of your insurance coverage needs.